Particulars Description
Country Name Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Government Type Democratic
Capital Islamabad
Administrative Divisions Balochistan, Punjab, Sindh, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, Gilgit-Baltistan, FATA, Islamabad Capital Territory and Azad Kashmir
  • Dominion 14 August 1947
  • The Islamic Republic 23 March 1956
Constitution Parliament:

  • Senate
    • Chairman: Sadiq Sanjrani
    • Deputy Chairman: Mirza Muhammad Afridi
  • National Assembly
    • Speaker: Raja Pervaiz Ashraf
    • Deputy Speaker: Zahid Akram Durrani
Legal System The Law of Pakistan is the law and legal system existing in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Pakistani law is based upon the legal system of British India; thus ultimately on the common law of England and Wales
Executive Branch
  • President
  • Prime Minister and Cabinet
Legislative Branch
  • National Assembly
  • Senate
Judicial Branch
  • Supreme Judicial Council
  • Supreme Court
Flag Description Name: Parc̱ham-e Sitārah o-Hilāl (Flag of the Crescent and Star)

A white star and crescent on a dark green field, with a vertical white stripe at the hoist. The green represents Islam and the majority of Muslims in Pakistan and the white stripe represents religious minorities and minority religions. In the center, the crescent and star symbolize progress and light respectively. The flag symbolizes Pakistan’s commitment to Islam and the rights of religious minorities.

National Days While Pakistan is an Islamic nation, there are also several secular holidays including Pakistan Day (23 March), Independence Day (14 August), Defense of Pakistan Day (6 September), Pakistan Air Force Day (7 September), the anniversaries of the birth (25 December) and death (11 September) of Quaid-e-Azam, Allama Iqbal (9 November) and the birth (30 July) and death (8 July) of Madar-e-Millat. Labour Day (also known as May Day) is also observed in Pakistan on 1 May.
Share via
Copy link